About the Department

Until 1988, the Department of Public Administration of the Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences at Marmara University was located on the Bahçelievler campus. In October of 1988, it became Turkey's first higher education institution that offered education in French. 

After signing special agreements with the French Foreign Ministry in 1988 and the French National Political Science Foundation in 1989, the department moved to the "Summer Mansion" of the French Embassy in Tarabya in 1989.  It was incorporated into the Faculty of Political Sciences in early 2012 and started to welcome students in Anadoluhisarı. 

The Department of Public Administration awarded its first degrees to its graduates in July of 1992.  In the academic year of 2011-2012, approximately 250 students enrolled and 14 full-time faculty members worked at the department, including 3 French instructors.  In addition, each year visiting professors from French universities teach at our department. 

The department's curriculum is identical with that of the French Political Studies Institutes (Instituts d'Etudes Politiques, IEP); the department offers exchange programs for students and faculty members in the framework of cooperation with venerable institutions of political science in France.  Graduates receive scholarships from the French government or the European Union to continue their education at France's prestigious educational institutions such as the ENA (Ecole Nationale d'Administration), Sorbonne, or IEP.  Plans are afoot to start double degree programs with some French higher education institutions in the near future.

This page updated by Department of Political Science and Public Administration (French) on 20.12.2017 10:25:56